What is Chiropractic?

The term comes to us from Greek and means "to treat with the hand." Today chiropractic is an independent scientific discipline that concerns the use of hands in treatment methods and therapy as well as with prevention of reversible functional disorders of the musculoskeletal system.

The use of the hands in the treatment of the spinal column was first recorded more than 5000 years ago. Chiropractic as a method of treatment was founded in 1895 by the American D.D. Palmer in Davenport, Iowa. Chiropractic is today the largest profession in the naturopathy profession.

Kay Nickelsen - Your Chiropractor  Kay Nickelsen - Your Chiropractor

Chiropractic is a holistic method based on the self-healing abilities of the body that eliminates the causes of ailments instead of only treating the symptoms. Therefore no drugs, injections or invasive surgery of any kind is used, which results in the normalized and strengthed function of the nervous system. Often the benefits of treatment are noticed within the first few visits.

Your chiropractor includes orthopaedic, neurologic and special chiropractic elements in his examination, such as joint play and checking a patient's general flexibility. In the case of certain ailments, your chiropractor may also consult X-rays.

Home  Site Map  Contact  Imprint

The Human Skeleton

Was ist Chiropraktik?

Der Begriff kommt aus dem griechischen und bedeutet "mit der Hand behandeln". Die Chiropraktik stellt heute eine eigenständige wissenschaftliche Disziplin dar, die sich mit manuellen Behandlungsmethoden und der Therapie sowie der Prophylaxe von reversiblen Funktionsstörungen des Bewegungsapparates befasst.

Die manuelle Behandlung der Wirbelsäule fand schon vor über 5000 Jahren Erwähnung. Die Chiropraktik als Behandlungsmethode wurde im Jahre 1895 durch den Amerikaner D.D. Palmer in Davenport/Iowa begründet. Sie ist heute weltweit der größte Berufsstand in der Naturheilkunde.

Kay Nickelsen - Ihr Chiropractor  Kay Nickelsen - Ihr Chiropractor

Die Chiropraktik ist eine ganzheitliche Methode, die auf den Selbstheilungskräften des Körpers aufbaut, und die Ursachen der Störungen behebt, statt sich ausschließlich mit den Symptomen zu befassen. Dabei wird völlig auf den Einsatz von Medikamenten, Injektionen sowie auf chirurgische Eingriffe verzichtet und somit wird die Funktion des Nervensystems normalisiert und gestärkt. Oftmals stellt sich der Erfolg schon nach wenigen Behandlungen ein.

Ihr Chiropraktor bezieht orthopädische, neurologische sowie spezielle chiropraktische Aspekte in seine Untersuchung mit ein. Dazu gehören z.B. das Gelenkspiel und die Überprüfung der allgemeinen Beweglichkeit. Röntgenaufnahmen werden bei der Behandlung von bestimmten Beschwerden zu Rate gezogen.

Home  Sitemap  Kontakt/Anfahrt  Impressum

Skelett des Menschen